SOUTH CAROLINA CONCEALED WEAPONS CLASS
April 17, 2021 - April 17, 2021
Whether you are brand new to the hobby of shooting or you have been shooting for many years, signing up for a shooting class can be an excellent experience.
The South Carolina License to Carry a Handgun, or commonly known as the concealed handgun license and concealed carry permit, is the license required in South Carolina to conceal or open carry a handgun in public. Melanin Globe is hosting an officially approved course instructed by a licensed professional, that is needed to get your License to Carry. Traditionally, students would be required to sit through a license to carry class in a classroom for 4-5 hours, then proceed to the shooting qualification.
This course is kept up to date with the latest information available. These law updates have been made available in the online class to provide you with the most accurate information available.
Who can take the class?
WOMEN ONLY. The material covered applies to anyone interested in firearms and goes over firearm safety, South Carolina law, federal law, deescalation techniques, methods of carry and more.
Certificate of Completion
The certificate issued at the successful completion of this course is valid for 2 years. After the online class, the certificate is issued and JWM Tactical Training can provide the required range instruction. The proficiency demonstration consists of the shooting qualification and 1-2 hours of “range instruction”.
Topics covered for the South Carolina CWP class include:
– Laws that relate to weapons and to the use of deadly force
Handgun Use and Safety
– Including use of holders and methods to ensure the secure carrying of handguns
Non-Violent Dispute Resolution
– De-escalation techniques including communication skills and situational awareness
Safe Storage Practices
– handgun storage options and law relating to storage
All of the material provided relates back to carrying a pistol in public in order to be as safe as possible. Whether you intend to carry a gun or not, this course is great for anyone interested in learning more about the above topics.
You need at least 2 magazines and 50rds of ammo for this class if you have your own gun(s). (We have Guns for rent but NO AMMO). This 4-5hr course will walk you through the essentials of handgun marksmanship, manipulations, and all fundamentals. We will cover range safety and etiquette, handgun fundamentals, sight pictures, grip, and trigger press. We will also cover the necessary nomenclature, laws, and requirements to meet and exceed the SLED standard for the concealed weapon permit. The first few hours of the course will entail the lecture portion and written test for the concealed weapon permit course. We will then move into the live pistol portion of the class to cover actual operation and manipulation of the handgun. Live fire and dry fire drills will come next and the CWP shooting test will be last. A detailed email will be sent approximately one week before the course date. There are no refunds. If you are unable to make this date, you will forfeit your funds.
Cost Per Person: $88